My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Locking In – Intro July 18, 2009

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 4:30 am

One day, while living in here Aberdeen, Scotland, I decided to do some laundry, a load that included the floor mats and a bath mat.  In my multi-tasking mode, I scooped them up and put them into the front loading under the counter model so popular in the UK, loaded up the soap and twisted the dial for start, the door locked and the water started to flow into the washer.  Then, I realized that I had just put a beige bathmat in with 2 floor mats, one, a variation of pink stripes, and the other, orange and burnt red stripes.  To my horror, I realized that that beige mat would be beige no more.  There was no way to stop the washer.  That bathmat would forever be locked into the new color it would become…a pretty mauvey pink.  Believe me, I washed the bathmat again, and it will forever be that pretty mauvey pink color.

Living a life for Christ and within His plan for your life is like locking into that washer.  If you desire to live for Him, be prepared to experience a mixture of easy sloshing, rough twists, incredibly painful spinning, you’ll be thoroughly cleaned and rinsed.  Living for Christ and striving to be like Him is kind of like this and, through it all, God will be with you because you will come out like Him or maybe even that mauvey pink. 

Locking into God’s plan for your life is not easy.  You’ll be challenged daily, you’ll go through trying times you never expected, times of doubt, and times of excitement and joy.  Living and locking into His will requires you to take up your cross—die to sin, transform your life for Christ and live for him…leading you to a life of hope and joy, and fullness in Him.

In Romans 5:3-5 Paul writes about what to expect when we lock into Christ.  He writes, “We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they are good for us—they help us learn to endure.  And endurance develops strength of character in us, and character strengthens our confident expectation of salvation.  And this expectation will not disappoint us.  For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.” (NLT)

If Paul’s life is an example of locking into God’s plan for your life…there is an adventure waiting for us as we lock into Him.

My journey to get to Aberdeen has taken me through all kinds of various emotions…excitement, fear, joy, desiring to do God’s will.  In waiting to hear if I was accepted into the Master’s Program at the Univeristy of Aberdeen, I read a Psalm each day.  Each Psalm spoke to me as I desired to do His will daily–it addressed my fears, joy, sorrows, and desire to do His will.  When reading those same Psalms today, they mean something so different now. 

At the beginning of this year, 2009, I decided not only to pick a year verse but also a monthly ‘focus’ word.  My verse for the year, Psalm 25:4-5 says, “Show me the path where I should walk, oh Lord; point out the right road to follow.  Lead me by your truth and teach me, for you are the God who saves me, All day long I put my hope in you.”  (NLT)

By choosing a ‘focus’ word each month, I have been able to put Psalm 25:4-5 in action.  In my ‘Locking In’ posts, I will share my thoughts on those focus words. Stay tuned.

 

One Response to “Locking In – Intro”

  1. Bonnie Baker Says:

    This is wonderful! You are very blessed. God is surely taking care of you. Keep it up. I will try you muffins.
    Love Mom


Leave a Reply

