My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Food – Quite possibly the best dinner ever! August 6, 2009

Filed under: Food — tlobner @ 6:04 pm

Last year after having enough of the pasta, broccoli and ricotta cheese one pot meal, I happened upon couscous made with lime juice.  And, ever since then the lime couscous has been a mainstay in this one particular dinner I’ve made for myself over and over and over again.  I can’t get enough of this dinner and that’s why I’m saying it’s quite possibly the best dinner ever.

This dinner includes boneless, skinless chicken breasts, baked in the oven with olive oil, garlic, lime juice and even the zest, and salt and pepper.  I’ve recently added chopped shallots.  Baked in the 350-375 degree oven until done and nicely golden on top.  Simple.

Next is the fresh chopped tomatoes…add a little garlic and/or some remaining chopped shallots, squeeze of lime juice, a little olive oil and top with whatever soft cheese you have…I love it with goat cheese, preferred, but lately I’ve had mascarpone cheese left over from a recipe, and have used this to top the tomatoes.  I can’t tell you how great this tastes…even with tomatoes here in Scotland leaving you wanting…it makes even those tomatoes taste good.

Now, the couscous.  In a pot, add a few splashings of olive oil, and brown garlic and shallots.  Add some salt and pepper if desired.  Add about a cup of couscous (this may serve about 4 people), stir around a bit over the heat, and add boiling water (about a cup), a chicken boullion cube, and juice of 1/2 lime.  Stir until water is beginning to be absorbed and couscous is fluffing up.  Take off heat with lid and let sit until all water is absorbed.

Plate it out.  Look at the lovely colors.  This is the dinner I can eat almost every night (and perhaps I do).  So easy and full of flavor.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

