My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Locking In – Month 2: Trust August 6, 2009

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 7:06 pm

February was all about Trust.

My visa came through.  I was interviewing for jobs and continuing to send out resumes (CV’s here) even though jobs were slowly fading away.  I was still working at Starbucks.  And, I decided to focus on Trust.

I can’t quite remember how the Trust word came about but I think it was firmly rooted in February when a friend of mine spoke at our church’s evening service and he pointed to a passage in Jeremiah 17.  It says, “This is what the Lord says: ‘Cursed are those who put their trust in mere humans and turn their hearts from the Lord…But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.'” (Jeremiah 17: 5,7 NLT)

Who or what was I putting my trust?  This is such a great passage because it reminds us where we should be putting our trust.  It is a reminder for us to align ourselves to the Lord, not with ‘mere’ humans who turn us away from the hope and confidence (assurance) we have in the Lord.

Psalm is full of passages on Trust.  David wrote a lot about trust, but are you surprised?  David, the guy who was pursued and wanted dead by his best friend’s dad.  David, the rightful king to the throne.  David, the man after God’s own heart.  David had to remind himself to trust God? 

Granted, we are not at all like David.  Surely, we aren’t pursued and wanted dead, we aren’t rightful heirs to the throne? Maybe? 

Are you comfortable and confident in trusting God in everything?  One passage in Psalm (perhaps one of my favorites) is Psalm 37:3-5,7.  It says, “Trust in the Lord and do good.  Then you will live safely in the land and prosper.  Take delight in the Lord and he will give you your heart’s desires.  Commit everything you do to the Lord.  Trust in him, and he will help you…Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act.” (NLT)

Take a look at the last sentence again…”wait patiently for him to act.”  There it is…trust…patience.  How easy is it to be patient?  How easy is it to trust?  In the midst of life’s struggles and difficulties, how easy is it to be still in his presence, and wait patiently for the Lord to act?  It isn’t easy.

A lot of people that I know are struggling to find jobs, to provide for themselves, for their families.  How many of them are experiencing a trust crisis?  What about you?  To be honest, I don’t think this struggle with trusting and being patient really ever goes away.  I do believe that I’ve learned a lesson about trusting God, one that I can build upon the next time I am faced with a trust crisis.  I know I can immediately turn to God and passages in the Bible to help me.  I know from past experience that God has taken care of me and provided for me…that alone is a record to be reminded of. 

Remembering what God has done for you can help you as you trust in him.  Psalm 77: 11-12 says “I recall all you have done, O Lord, I remember your wonderful deeds of long ago. They are constantly in my thoughts, I cannot stop thinking about them.”  (NLT)  I think the one way to help overcome the trust crisis is to ‘recall’ all the Lord has done for you, it helps because you will see how much he loves and cares for you and how much he HAS done for you.  If you read the next Psalm, Psalm 78, you will see a list of the things the Lord had done for the Israelites, and you can better believe that he has done and will do things for you…just trust him.

Next time: Depend

 

Leave a Reply

