My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Locking In – Month 4: Hope September 12, 2009

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 4:06 pm

For April, I chose the word “Hope”.

There is a song we sing at my church that ends with ‘my hope is in you alone.’  And when we sing it, we actually sing it as “my hope (pause) is (pause) in (pause) you (pause) alone. ”  Those pauses draw attention to the words making you consider their impact.

As you can tell, I love Psalms. In Psalm 33-the Psalmist (David?) is praising the Lord, writing of his attributes and his faithfulness.  The Psalm ends with “We depend on the Lord alone to save us.  Only he can help us, protecting us like a shield.  In him our hearts rejoice for we are trusting in his holy name.  Let your unfailing love surround us, Lord, for our hope is in you alone.” (Psalm 33:20-23)

Have you ever pondered what your life would have been like without Christ?  It is hard for me even to fathom what life would be like without hope, without knowing that God loves me and cares for me and died for me.   What would it be like to live without hope?  Is it empty and lonely?  How does one get up every morning?  I’m sure they have a purpose, but what is that purpose, on what is their hope based?

As a believer, I have a hope in Christ that gives me purpose, gives me motivation to continue on in the life given to me.  I have a hope for now and for the future.  1 Peter 1:6, 8 and 9 says,  “So be truly glad!  There is wonderful joy ahead, even though it is necessary for you to endure many trials for awhile…You love him even though you have never seen him.  Though you do not see him, you trust him; and even now you are happy with a glorious, inexpressible joy.  Your reward for trusting him will be the salvation of your souls.”

Also, in Hebrews 10:23, it says “Without wavering, let us hold tightly to the hope we say we have, for God can be trusted to keep his promise.”  I love this.  God can be trusted to keep his promise…promise to care, provide and protect us.  All we need to do is to hold on tightly without jumping ship.  We go through rough waters in our life and holding tightly on to hope is what is required of us.  We just need to hold on and trust.

I end with another favorite Psalm, Psalm 40,  “I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry.  He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire.  He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.  He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God.  Many will see what he has done and be astounded.  They will put their trust in the Lord.  Oh, the joys of those who trust the Lord, who have no confidence in the proud or in those who worship idols… I take joy in doing your will, my God for your law is written on my heart…  Lord, don’t hold back your tender mercies from me.  My only hope is in your unfailing love and faithfulness.” (1-4,8,11)

Can you say…

My hope… is… in… you… alone.

Next time: Gentle and Quiet Spirit

 

Leave a Reply

