My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Locking In – Month 6: Rest October 9, 2009

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 4:27 pm

For June I chose Rest.  As I write this I am tired–it’s a Friday.  It’s been a big week…company’s annual meeting, board meeting, 2 weeks of preparation for each, and finally some word about the future of my job.  Exhausted.  I can feel it in my back and shoulders.

In June, I felt exhausted too.  A whole year had gone by–looking back at June 2008–I had just finished the course work for my Masters and was beginning to write my dissertation.  One whole year later…degree received and two jobs later…I was tired, exhausted and I was to dwell on rest…something I guess I needed the most.

My rest didn’t mean I took a nice long holiday/vacation…no.  My rest came in the reminder of stillness. 

I came across Psalm 116:7-9.  It says that the writer was facing death and the Lord saved him…”Now I can rest again, for the Lord has been so good to me.  He saved me from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling.  And so I walk in the Lord’s presence as I live here on earth!” (NLT)  Powerful stuff!  I had gone through so much in what felt like such a short time.  This verse made me realize that I could rest because the Lord has been so good to me…he protected me, comforted me, guided me…and I needed to just walk in His presence…he’s got it covered!

I was reminded I needed to be still.  Psalm 37:7 says, “Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act.” (NLT)

Then I was reminded that I needed to take time to be still and to honor the Lord in my stillness.  Psalm 46:10 says, “Be silent, and know that I am God!  I will be honored by every nation.  I will be honored throughout the world.” (NLT)

Rest was not about recouping the energy I needed to continue on for another day.  This rest was a reminder that I needed to think differently about my activities…my busyness.  I often find myself going, going, going…until I drop.  Filling up ’empty’ time with activities to avoid being ‘alone’.   Some times being alone is good…but I certainly wasn’t going to be able to hear His voice in my busyness…I am certain we hear His voice in our stillness, in our time of rest.

I can tell you that this is something I still need to be reminded of.  I am looking ahead this month and I can see where I am going to be busy, very busy–next week for example will be very busy.  But in my busyness, in my activity packed weeks, I know that I am not spending enough time in the Word. I’m certainly not praying or listening to the Lord.  This is a reminder that I honor the Lord when I am silent, when I am still and when I make the time to rest.

Next time:  Faithfulness

 

Leave a Reply

