My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Locking In – Getting Caught up – Faithfulness, Confidence, Truth and Thanksgiving! December 5, 2009

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 6:07 pm

Since there is only one month left in the year, I thought I would get caught up on the focus words I chose for the month of July (Faithfulness), August (Confidence/Assurance), and September (Truth/True).  I will end with November’s focus word because it is really fresh in my mind.

In July, I focused on faithfulness.  Below are the verses I focused on.  Read them for yourself but I have noted some thoughts alongside the references:

Psalm 73:23-24 –  The verses right before these verses share of the bitterness, foolishness and ignorance of the writer…but he ends his thoughts with “yet I still belong to you.”  This shows how faithful God is to us and how much he loves us.

Psalm 77:11-12 – These verses remind us to be constantly aware and mindful of what God has done for us.

Psalm 36:5-7 – There is no limit to God’s love and faithfulness.  Be so thankful for that!

Psalm 40:1-3 – Understanding God’s faithfulness means you need to know what He has done for you.  Notice how many times it refers to what God has done.

Psalm 37:18 – This verse shows who takes care– the Lord takes care!  Trust Him!

Psalm 66:12b – This verse says who brought them out of the fire and flood and into a place of great abundance.  Have you seen the Lord’s faithfulness in your circumstances!  I sure have!

My response to the Lord’s faithfulness to me is found in Psalm 42:8 – “Through each day the Lord pours out his unfailing love upon me and through each night I will sing his song; praying to God who gives me life.”  This is what I need to do…sing a new song each night; a song focusing on the Lord and what he has done for me…giving me life!

In August, I focused on confidence.  Below are the verses I focused on.  Read them for yourself but I have noted some thoughts alongside the references:

Psalm 57:7-11 – When my heart is confident in the Lord, I can be thankful, I can sing praises, and I can exalt the Lord and honor Him.

Psalm 62: 5-7 – The passage notes the reason for our confidence in the Lord.

Psalm 91:14-16 – Notice all the I will’s… I will rescue, I will protect, I will answer, I will be with them, I will satisfy.  Confidence in the Lord means we need to also trust him.

Hebrews 13: 5, 6 and 8 – The Lord won’t leave us or forsake us.  With confidence, we can say the “Lord is my helper, so I will not be afraid.”  With confidence we can rest assured because Jesus hasn’t changed…he is the same yesterday, today and tomorrow. 

In September, I focused on truth.  Below are the verses I focused on.  Read them for yourself but I have noted some thoughts alongside the references:

Psalm 33:4-5 – The word of the Lord is true, he is worthy of our trust.

Psalm 19:7-11 – These verses identify the commandments and the law of the Lord and they are noted as being right.  Jesus is the way, the truth and the life…he brings us joy to our hearts.

Psalm 12:6 – This verse notes that the Lord’s promises are pure. It’s the real thing.

In November, I focused on thanksgiving…not the holiday, but the concept of being thankful.  These verses noted are in NLT and to be read in the order below, as a prayer and response.

Psalm 31:7 – “I am overcome with joy because of your unfailing love, for you have seen my troubles, and you care about the anguish of my soul.”

Psalm 31:14-15a – “But I am trusting you, O Lord, saying, ‘You are my God!’ My future is in your hands.”

Psalm 31:19 – “Your goodness is so great! You have stored up great blessings for those who honor you.  You have done so much for those who come to you for protection, blessing them before the watching world.”

Psalm 28:7 – “The Lord is my strength, my shield from every danger.  I trust in him with all my heart.  He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy.  I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.”

Next time:  Four Responses to God’s Glory as found surrounding Christ’s Birth

 

Leave a Reply

