My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Food – What I want to be doing right now rather than being at work December 22, 2009

Filed under: Food — tlobner @ 3:03 pm

I want to make orange cinnamon roles with an orange frosting.  That’s my goal for tonight.  I’m looking out the window at all the snow and the only thing I can think about is a cup of great tasting coffee (like Starbuck’s Christmas Blend), amazing orange cinnamon rolls with dried cranberries and pecans with the orange frosting, some bacon, pjs, a good movie and a warm blanket.

For the Orange Cinnamon Rolls–check out this link! http://www.thebakingpan.com/sweetyeastbreads/orangecinnamonrolls.html

I made a few changes to the recipe…instead of raisins, I use dried cranberries… for the frosting, reduce the vanilla extract to 3/4 tsp and add a 1/4 tsp almond extract.  The frosting is out of this world and it tastes very similar to the Pillsbury Orange Rolls frosting.

I love to make these and put them in the freezer to use later.  Be sure to use them within a month or the yeast will die!  All you have to do is pull them out of the freezer, place in your prepared baking pan, and let them rise overnight.  Bake as normal.  Spread the frosting over the warm cinnamon rolls and serve.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

