My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

New Year – A New Song January 1, 2010

Filed under: Locking In,Scenic Routes — tlobner @ 10:08 am

It’s about 9:30 am on January 1st 2010 (will it be two thousand ten or twenty ten?) and looking out the window.  I got home this morning about 3am from a party at a friend’s house not too far from where I live (I walked) and was wide awake at 6am but was able to force myself to go back to sleep for two more hours.  But now, I’m raring to go.  I’ve cleaned up some clutter, thrown away some paper (I’m known for saving  just about every slip of paper that comes my way), charged up my Ipod, updated my Facebook status which is now old news but don’t want to change it, and now updating my blog.

Was contemplating taking a walk down to the Aberdeen Beach, about a 30-40 minute walk  but as it was snowing really hard for about 30 minutes, and so I ended that idea.  But since it has now stopped, I may entertain that idea again because I can’t imagine myself being inside my flat all day watching DVDs or reading…I really want to get out and breathe the chilly air, hear the crunch of snow as I walk and get that exercise that I’ve been thinking I need. Perhaps after I’ve eaten my cereal…I deliberately decided to not defrost and proof my orange cinnamon rolls…and have since given in, and they are being defrosted and proofing in my fridge so that I can bake fresh for the afternoon… and some coffee, I will get going and do that walk with or without snow fall.  In the meantime, here are my thoughts for 2010.

  2010 — a new year…a new start…a year older (won’t happen until March but it is always helpful to begin preparing in January for the new year older age, which we won’t reveal)…a new song.

A few months ago while listening to a podcast from Bridgeway Christian Church during the study of Revelation, the pastor, Lance Hahn, struck a chord with me when he spoke on Revelation 14 (verse 3).  The verse basically goes like this…”This great choir (the 144,000) sang a wonderful new song in front of the throne of God and before the four living beings and the twenty-four elders.  And no one could learn this song except for those 144,000 who had been redeemed from the earth.”  To be fair, I am not commenting on the 144,000 or the four living beings or the twenty-four elders but what the 144,000 were doing.  They were singing a “wonderful” new song, no one else knew.  Lance suggested that this new song was specific to their own experiences, their own personal worship song to the Lord for purchasing and making them pure.  Then, he drove this idea home with a question…are you still singing the same song you’ve sung from the beginning?  Have you grown, changed, experienced something with Christ that was different from when you first became a Christian? And are you still singing the same ol’ song?  Obviously if we have grown and experienced change in our relationship with Christ, we should be singing a new song.

Since hearing this podcast, I’ve been finding some of the same thoughts in the Psalms…sing a new song, he has given me a new song etc…The emphasis is not on the “oh, woe is me” expression of your past before Christ but a forward moving journey.  It is the “Yes, I had a hard time, I’ve been oppressed, but I’ve seen what Christ has done…and I’m singing a wonderful new song…I’m telling a whole new wonderful story.”

So to start the new year off…I’m going to focus on a new song…whatever that may be…be it new insight or experiences…whatever.

Here’s my year verse for 2010, Psalm 40:3 with a little preamble to give a sense of power a new song can have in your window to the world. 

Psalm 40:1-3

1I waited patiently for the Lord to help me, and he turned to me and heard my cry. 

2He lifted me out of the pit of despair, out of the mud and the mire.  He set my feet on solid ground and steadied me as I walked along.

3He has given me a new song to sing, a hymn of praise to our God.  Many will see what he has done and be astounded.  They will put their trust in the Lord.

Happy New Year!  Happy New Song!

 

One Response to “New Year – A New Song”

  1. Bonnie Baker Says:

    Hi Tiffany,
    Just found and read your blog. Loved it! You really have a gift of words. This morning I just read Psalm 34 & 35. I am reading through the Bible in my own program and this is where I am.
    Love Mom


Leave a Reply

