My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

It’s Cold! I’m Cold! January 9, 2010

Filed under: Food,Scenic Routes — tlobner @ 9:56 am

Yes, I finally admit it…I’m cold. I can’t believe the amount of layers I wear…people laugh when they see me wearing not one but two scarves. I guess the -3 degrees C reading doesn’t really help me get warm.  Then, of course, thinking I can get warm with my hot tea…not a chance, it cools down a lot faster.  Yes, I have the heater on…but the windows in my flat leak the cold air from outside…and wearing two pairs of socks is a must!

 

My layers–the progression…

I probably sound like I’m complaining, but I do like the cold…it’s part of the adventure I say to myself.  Because this is my third winter here…you’d think I’d be used to it…but honestly I don’t think it’s been this cold since I’ve been here. I think someone said this the worst snow Britain has seen since 1963. And to illustrate this…click on this link to see a frozen UK. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8447023.stm

After a little housework, I will be launching myself out into the frozen world for a walk and to get a few groceries…I’ll take a few pictures to illustrate my frozen world to prove my point.

Ok, I’m back from my excursion through the city to Morrison’s (groceries) and I’m eating some great soup (recipe provided below) I made last week (yes, it was still good!).  As you can see from the pictures, it’s cold here with the periodic snow fall.

Winter Warm Up Soup (Caramelized Parsnip/Carrot/Potato Soup)

3-4 parsnips (peeled, chopped)

3-4 carrots (peeled, chopped)

1 potato (peeled, chopped)

2 cloves garlic (peeled, smashed)

2 TB honey

2oz butter

4TB heavy cream

1 3/4 pints chicken or vegetable stock

Favorite seasonings (Seasoned salt, whatever you want to taste in your soup, etc)

1/2 pint boiling water

Preheat oven to 390 degrees F (200 degrees C).  In a roasting pan, add the butter.  Let melt.  Add the vegetables and garlic.  Season with favorite season salt.  Stir so that all is coated with butter and seasonings.  Roast in oven for 30-35 minutes, stir once, until golden brown. 

In a large pot, heat stock.

Back to the roasting pan, stir in the honey and cook for a further 10 minutes so that all have carmalized.  Remove pan from oven and add to heating stock and bring to a boil.  Reduce and simmer for 10 minutes.

Turn off heat and puree until smooth (using hand blender to whurr it up).  Check seasoning.  Return to heat and add 1/2 pint boiling water, bring back to boil.  Stir in cream.

Serve with crusty bread.

Stay warm everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

