My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Cold weather brings out the baker in me… January 15, 2010

Filed under: Food — tlobner @ 9:44 am

(Well, the truth is I love to bake anytime of the year; it doesn’t matter when and what the weather is like.  And, I think “baker” is kind of ingrained in me because my mom’s maiden name is Baker…but anyways…)

So my self imposed embargo on baking was momentarily lifted last night when I saw a recipe on my friend Holly’s blog for buttermilk and cranberry scones.  Can you believe it, I’ve been in the UK for 2.5 years and I haven’t even baked scones since I’ve been here.  Well, I got a hankering for them…and so I broke through the embargo and baked them.  The recipe is Holly’s and I’m giving her all the credit.  However, I’ve made a few changes based upon the ingredients I have here in Aberdeen, Scotland.  These scones are very light and very tasty.  Just perfect for a cold, windy, rainy day in Aberdeen.

Please note that I didn’t find buttermilk at my store so I used sour cream instead mixed with milk (you will see in the ingredients how much I used).  I also topped with demerara sugar after brushing it with cream.  Also I found that by freezing them, brushing them with cream and topping them with the sugar, and then baking them, they hold their shape while baking. So make some, freeze some and bake when you need some!

Buttermilk and Cranberry Scones

Ingredients:

2 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c. granulated sugar
6 Tbsp (3/4 stick) cold butter, cut into pieces
1/2 c. buttermilk  (I used 1/4c. sour cream and 1/4 c. milk)
1 egg
1/2 c. dried cranberries
powdered sugar (to sprinkle, optional)  (I used demerara (raw) sugar to top)

Directions:

  1. In food processor (or large bowl with mixer), combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar. Blend well.
  2. Add butter, cut into 8 pieces, until mixture is crumbly.
  3. Add buttermilk (sour cream and milk mixture), egg,  and cranberries;  mix until dough holds together and forms a mass.
  4. Turn out onto a floured surface (knead very lightly to make sure all ingredients are incorporated) and pat into a 3/4 to 1-inch thick rectangle.
  5. Cut dough into 8-10 squares or rectangles. Shape each piece into a triangle or diamond shape if desired.
  6. Brush with a little cream and top with demerara (raw) sugar.
  7. Bake in preheated 400 degree oven, 15-18 minutes or until golden.
  8. If desired, sprinkle with powdered sugar when done.

Makes 8-10 scones.

NOTE: Can substitute cranberries for other, similar fruit. Original recipe calls for currants

 

Leave a Reply

