My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

For Christ to Be More & More at Home in My Heart February 1, 2010

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 9:11 pm

Only you can fill my deepest longing

Only you can breathe in me new life

Only you can fill my heart with laughter

Only you can answer my heart’s cry

It’s kind of funny. Little did I realize when I decided to start this year off focusing on a new song, I’d actually be using words of songs on my blog.  The above chorus is from a song written by Andy Park.  And how appropriate are the words as they relate to what I have been dwelling on over the last few weeks.

And, what I’ve been dwelling on is found in Ephesians 3:17, “And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your heart as you trust in him” and in what Beth Moore said in a recent online study in Proverbs on wisdom and the heart.

My thoughts have been like this:  What does it mean to have Christ more and more at home in your heart? What will it take for Christ to be more and more at home in my heart?

Considering what it means to have Christ more and more at home it my heart led me in a round about way to wisdom.  In Proverbs 2:6 it says the Lord grants wisdom;  in verse 10 it says that “wisdom will enter your heart and knowledge will fill you with joy.”  But in order for this to happen you need to “cry out for insight and understanding” (verse 3).  In Paul’s prayer in Ephesians 3:18, he prays that “may you have the power to understand…” how wide, how long,how high, how deep “…his love really is.”  It all boils down, though, to how well do you KNOW HIM.  Proverbs 3:5-6 says “trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.  Seek his will in all you do, and he will direct your paths.”  This verse bascially lays it out…for Christ to be more and more at home in your heart, you have to open the door to him, you have to know him, you have to seek him, you have to seek his will for your life.   He wants to be a part of your life (my life) and we need to let him in and let him.  Friendship with him is what he wants with us…Psalm 25:14, and it’s in this friendship with him where he will share the secrets of his covenant.  Read also Psalm 25:4-5…this verse actually is like asking him to participate in your life; leading, teaching, guiding.

Considering what will it take for Christ to be more and more at home in my heart led me to another pondering of scripture, Philipians 3:8-11 (read on your own).  This passage basically says that all the things we allow to take precedence in our lives is garbage, worthless…knowing Christ is “priceless” and worthy of pursuit.  Our whole purpose is to know Christ and to trust him.  In verse 10, it says “As a result”, I like that, “I can really know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I can learn…I can experience…”

Quite possibly one of my favorite songs since moving to Aberdeen is this song by Martin Smith.  To me it’s “912 in the Blue Book”, but it is called “Lord you have my heart” and before I end with the words of the song, consider what it means to you to have Christ more and more at home in your heart and what it will take for him to be at home in your heart if your heart is conflicted.  This is something I’m working on as I desire for him to be more and more at home in me and what choices I will have to make for it to happen.

Lord, you have my heart, and I will search for yours

Jesus, take my life and lead me on

Lord, you have my heart and I will search for yours

Let me be to you a sacrifice

 

And I will praise you Lord (I will praise you Lord)

I will sing of love come down (I will sing of love come down)

As you show your face (show you face)

We’ll see your glory here

 

Leave a Reply

