My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Tune Your Ears February 27, 2010

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 7:27 pm

There is one thing (ok to be honest one of many things) that I get very obsessed about, and I find much joy in, and that is cleverly arranged music in movies, musicals and on TV.  My newest, albeit belated, obsession is the TV show Glee.  Yes, my name is Tiffany and I’m a Gleek. 

I have been so fascinated by this show that I am one of the many people who have downloaded via iTunes the music from the show (I only have volume one and waiting patiently for March 15th when volume two is released on iTunes in the UK) and I practically have all the songs in volume one memorized.  Yep, that’s me…a Gleek.  But this is always how I’ve been…with practically every musical I’ve loved…all the Disney movies, Les Mis, Sound of Music, etc, etc, etc… My obsession is not in the music but in singing the songs, trying to hit the right note, memorizing the lyrics, knowing when to come in and understanding the nuances of the music/words, etc…and though I’m too shy to share my voice with anyone, hitting the right note is important to me, as much as finding the extra violin (fiddle) in a song by the Getty’s or appreciating how amazing the oboe is in one of tracks from the movie The Mission.  Tuning my ears to the music to fully enjoy and appreciate what has been created by musicians, writers, and vocalists. 

Kind of an interesting obsession for someone who is hearing impaired, don’t you think? 

This true illustration about me points to a verse I found in Proverbs.  Proverbs 2:1-4 says (NLT), “My child, listen to me and treasure my instructions.  Tune your ears to wisdom and concentrate on understanding.  Cry out for insight and understanding.  Search for them as you would for lost money or hidden treasure.”

I wonder what I would be like if my obsession for God’s Word was just like my obsession with hitting the right note or memorizing the lyrics.  What would my life be like?

So, how does one tune their ears to wisdom and concentrate on understanding?  What does this mean? 

Tuning or concentrating makes me think of training, practicing, focusing, obsessing.  When you listen to a specific piece of music, you need to be focused, alert, quiet, your ears need to be sensitive to pick up notes, and you need to listen to it over and over to learn it, to appreciate it, to enjoy it.

Kind of like studying the Word of God…

I have been looking at wisdom and having Christ more and more at home in my heart.  In order for me to pursue this, I realized that I needed to be alert to His voice, sensitive to His calling, quiet in His presence and my ears need to be tuned and ready with anticipation.

I want to be a woman whose wisdom comes from the Lord…”when she speaks, her words are wise, and kindness is the rule when she gives instructions.” (Proverbs 31:26 NLT)  I want to be guided by his counsel “leading me to a glorious destiny.” (Psalm 73:24 NLT) I want God to “remain the strength of my heart.” (Psalm 73:26b NLT)

Lately I have found so many amazing nuggets of wisdom, carefully crafted lessons, reminders of God’s grace, guidance, justice, and love, that I am finding joy in my Locking In focuses.

That essentially is the result of tuning and concentrating…Proverbs 2:9-10 says “then you will understand what is right, just, and fair, and you will know how to find the right course of action every time.  For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will fill you with joy.” (emphasis mine)

Psalm 40:8 says, “I take joy in doing your will, my God, for your law is written on my heart.” (NLT)

I found this wonderful command…”Give thanks to the Lord and proclaim his greatness.  Let the whole world know what he has done.  Sing to him; yes, sing his praises.  Tell everyone about his miracles.  Exult in his holy name; Search for the Lord and for his strength, and keep on searching.” (Psalm 105: 1-4 NLT)

My response:  “My heart has heard you say, ‘Come and talk with me.’ And my heart responds, ‘Lord, I am coming.'” (Psalm 27:8)

Tuning your ears to the Lord’s wisdom doesn’t have to be a chore…find joy in seeking him, and keep on searching…make it your obsession.

 

Leave a Reply

