My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

This is the big one! March 4, 2010

Filed under: Scenic Routes — tlobner @ 10:55 am

The Big 4-0! 

Yes, I am finally able to write this without grimacing.  Seriously, it has taken me 3 months or more to be able to be ok with becoming 40!   You can ask my friends if you don’t believe me.

My birthday is on the 9th and I have already begun celebrating my birthday beginning with a delicious lunch with a friend last Saturday.  There are more celebrations to come this Saturday and then of course on my actual birthday.  So I’m looking forward to what’s ahead.

One of the reasons I have been so reluctant to acknowledge that I am turning 40 is because while I know it is just a number, it also has so many things attached to it, positive and negative, that I have had to ‘deal with’ these past few months.  By ‘deal with’, I mean come to terms with those positive and negative things that have much to do with public perceptions and expectations. 

My aunt reminded me that I am a young-looking 40-year-old, which is true, and that I needed to focus on that, the positives in my life right now and things I have been able to accomplish…and if I focused on the negatives and made the whole turning 40 thing a downer, that’s how others would see me.  Great advice don’t you think.

Last year I started the Locking In blogs focusing first with the concept of joy…and to be honest joy and joyfulness have been etched into my character because of that first focus.  And, joyful is how I should be right now as I embark on my 40th year!

So with this in mind, I am joyfully looking forward to what this year will bring and what I will bring to it–I can’t wait for what’s ahead!

Happy Birthday to me!

 

4 Responses to “This is the big one!”

  1. Oh Tiffacy.. that is how I was about 30. 40 was good and now that I am 42ish.. no problem! My sweet husband turns 49 on the 6th. So that is kind of weird!

    • ok so I know how to spell your name… It’s way early here. 🙂

      • tlobner Says:

        Thanks Tina! I think we all go through issues about our age at some time or another. It’s nice to know I’m not alone…and honestly, I am excited about the year ahead! 🙂

  2. Mike Bradley Says:

    Dearly beloved Tiffeny . Who is 40 ?????????????????????????
    Not the tiny delightful child from San Diego. Where is my rocking chair


Leave a Reply

