My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

New Direction? Or is it Looking Forward with a Renewed Purpose? March 28, 2010

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 8:12 pm

As I’m sure you’ve read, my birthday was this month (March) and as we are very close to the end of it, I thought it was time to share what I have been focusing on this month.

On my birthday I opened up the Bible and read Psalm 9 (March 9, Psalm 9).  And I’m so glad I did because verses 1 & 2 says, “I will thank you, Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all the marvelous things you have done.  I will be filled with joy because of you.  I will sing praises to your name, O Most High.”

I have so much to be thankful for: a job, a place to live, a place to live where I dreamed to live for one year and I’ve been here almost 3, clothes, food, friends, family.  The Lord has provided all of that for me.

With this in mind I turned over to Jeremiah 29 to read my life verse again…Jeremiah 29:11 and this time I stretched it to 14a.  It says, “‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ says the Lord.  ‘They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.  In those days when you pray, I will listen.  If you look for me in earnest, you will find me when you seek me.  I will be found by you,’ says the Lord.” 

So what’s ahead this year? I have no clue…but I know that from the promise noted above, God has a plan greater than I can conceive and I need to trust Him as He leads me.  I need to continually seek Him.  Proverbs 16:9 says, “We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.”  Psalm 31: 14-15a is my response, “…I am trusting you, O Lord, saying, ‘You are my God!’ My future is in your hands.”

In January I started thinking about a new song, which represents a new focus in moving forward in my life.  And, I’ve been attempting to focus on new things that I’ve never considered before, in hopes that I may encourage others.

In the book discussion group I’m in, the other ladies and I were just recently challenged with witnessing and being bold for Christ.  Living our lives in front of others as Christians is difficult when we know we are to be examples for others.  We are to live our life that would demand an explanation from others–why we live the way we do, why we do what we do… We are to move forward with the power of Christ so that “the way we live will always honor and please the Lord, and you will continually do good, kind things for others.  All the while, you will learn to know God better and better.” (Colossians 1:10-11)  It is difficult, but not impossible if we have the power of Christ guiding and strengthening us.

I’m sure as you’ve read previously, I want to know the Lord better and better… so that verse in Colossians is so appropriate to spiritual growth and wisdom.  Continuing in Colossians in verses 11 & 12 it notes some things we need to be praying for as we grow stronger in the Lord…(besides praying for spiritual wisdom and complete understanding)…such things like, patience and endurance, being filled with joy, and always thankful.

So, as I embark in my new year in a new age, my direction, is not new, but with renewed purpose to move forward in my walk with the Lord.

“…I am trusting you, O Lord, saying, ‘You are my God!’ My future is in your hands.” Psalm 31: 14-15a

 

2 Responses to “New Direction? Or is it Looking Forward with a Renewed Purpose?”

  1. Kristal Says:

    I have added this verse to my desktop, which is in the same vein as the one’s you list.
    “I wait for the Lord, I expectantly wait, and in His word do I hope.” Psalm 130:5 (amp)

    Waiting can have so many underlying connotations. Waiting for resolution to a problem, an answer, a direction…or waiting for something good. Like the day before vacation or going to Disneyland! Every day presents a new understanding of “waiting on God”. Expectant, hope-filled waiting does not mean you just sit down and do nothing, it is active and full of joy!


Leave a Reply

