My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

I heart Pita Chips! April 17, 2010

Filed under: Food — tlobner @ 10:43 am

Yes, it’s true…and to be honest, they are really hard to find in the stores here in Aberdeen, unless you go to Costco–which I don’t.

Last week I bought some whole wheat pitas and I didn’t use them as quickly as I thought I would, so I put half in the freezer and used the other half to make pita chips.  I’m sure I’ll be using the freezer half soon to make more pita chips!

Have you ever made your own?  If not, they are so easy.  You can use regular or the whole wheat pitas.

Preheat your oven to a high temp, for me it’s 200 degrees C (375-400 degrees F).

Cut your pitas into triangles or squares– there is a ‘natural’ separation point where you would split the pita if you were using it to make a pocket…split the pieces using the natural split…if one does not exist, take your knife and carefully cut the piece into two thin pieces.

Line a baking sheet pan with either foil or parchment and place the pita pieces on the pan.

Coat both sides with olive oil and fine sea salt (not too much like I tend to do)

Bake…no idea how long, but periodically check them, turn over.  Watch that they don’t get too brown…but you want them crispy.

When they look done to you, take them out and place them on a cooling rack without the pan.  Let them cool and ‘dry’ out.

Eat them for snacks, with dips, with houmous (hummus), crumble them and place them on salads.

Yummy! Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

