My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

I will… May 30, 2010

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 6:12 am

Last night, friends of mine from church got married and it got me thinking about what I have been focusing on this month.  Besides getting all dressed up, eating an enormous amount of sugar filled goodies at the tea and cake reception, enjoying a nice dinner at the dinner reception, great conversations, and, of course, the ceilidh (kay-lee, a dance with Scottish tunes and dances similar to square dancing) at the end, the festivities surround, as we know, the commitment two people have made to each other.

Earlier this month I read a passage from Psalm 91 (verses 14-16 to be exact) and it says (in NLT): “The Lord says, ‘I will rescue those who love me.  I will protect those who trust in my name.  When they call on me, I will answer; I will be with him in trouble.  I will rescue them and honor them.  I will satisfy them with a long life and give them my salvation.'”

Kind of sounds like vows to me with all those “I will’s”…

Obviously we can depend on the Lord to be faithful to His promises and reading the passage reminds me of how much I often take Him for granted…I don’t mean to.  I know those promises and I depend on those promises to help me when I struggle or when I need comfort.  So, there’s got to be something on my part in return for the promises, the “I will’s” of God.

There are such passages…and I found, I’m sure, just one of such passages in Psalm 86: 11-13 (NLT): “Teach me your ways, O Lord, that I may live according to your truth!  Grant me purity of heart, that I may honor you.  With all my heart I will praise you, O Lord my God.  I will give glory to your name forever, for your love is great.  You have rescued me from the depths of death.”

Doesn’t this get you thinking about your commitment to the Lord?  The above passages are clearly not passive passages…both parties take action in the relationship.  The Lord states his promise and we must respond if we are to be in the relationship together.  Just disecting the response passage alone is worth studying…what does it mean for me to learn His ways and what are those ways?  What is required of a pure heart?  And with that heart I am to give praise and glory to the Lord…more than praise songs and words…what am I doing to give praise and glory to the Lord if it is more than just singing praise songs?  How does my life reflect this…essentially…what is the status of my heart?

This is definitely something to ponder!

Until next time…

 

Leave a Reply

