My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Tarte aux Myrtilles Alsacien August 17, 2010

Filed under: Food — tlobner @ 6:58 pm

Tarte aux Myrtilles (or what's left of it!)

I’m taking this week off for, well, to take it off.  And so with the weather being interesting–warm, at times, wet (about 50:50), and chilly, I’m not quite sure we’ve started the countdown to fall (or autumn like they say here).  Which leads me to this desire to bake!! Oh yes!

I got this really great deal on blueberries (2 for 1), and while I love them and have been eating them with my breakfast, I certainly didn’t want them to go bad.  So, I did some searching around my Julia Child Mastering the Art of French Cooking cookbook/encyclopedia and I’m sorry to say I didn’t find what I was looking for…but I did find this recipe somewhere in cyberland and have changed it because that’s what I like to do.

Tarte aux Myrtilles Alsacien (Alsace region blueberry tart)

Pate Sucre (sugar crust)

4 1/2 T butter – room temp

1/2c powdered sugar (icing sugar)

1/4t salt

1 1/2c flour

cold water, as necessary

Cream butter then add sugar and salt.  Gradually add flour (mix until sandy in texture).  Gather into a ball (if it doesn’t come together, add a little bit of water until you can gather it together).  Place dough on lightly floured plastic wrap.  Press dough into a disk about 1/2 inch thick.  Wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, on parchment or waxed paper, roll disk into 1/4 inch thickness.  Roll until it fits a tart pan (best with removable bottom).  Press into pan.  Put back into refrigerator and chill for 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 200 degrees C/400 degrees F.  Place a dark baking sheet in oven.

You are now ready to assemble to Tart.

2 pints blueberries (washed, picked over and sampled for sweetness–if not very sweet, toss with some sugar and set aside, however, I’d try to avoid this because adding sugar also creates more juice.)

2 eggs

1/4c white sugar

2T ground almonds

1T flour

1/2c creme fraiche

1/2t almond extract

After tart has been in the refrigerator for 30 minutes, take out and place blueberries into tart shell.  Place on the baking sheet in oven and bake for 20 minutes.  While baking, make filling by whisking eggs, sugar, flour, ground almonds, creme fraiche and extract together.

Remove tart from oven.  Blot juice, if able, with paper towels to remove as much juice as possible.  Ladle on the filling to cover all.  Reduce oven heat to 180 degrees C/350 degrees F.  Carefully place tart on baking sheet (lined with parchment) and bake for 20 minutes.  Allow to cool.

Dust with powdered sugar (icing sugar) and serve if desired with ice cream or creme fraiche.

Definitely let it cool so that you can enjoy the sweet berries and almond flavor.  The filling sits on top and surrounds the berries…underneath is full of yummy berries…

The layers of the tart...pate sucre crust, blueberries, and the creme fraiche almond filling

…and no I didn’t eat half  of it all by myself…I’m giving some pieces away.

 

Leave a Reply

