My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Seasonal firsts September 15, 2010

Filed under: Food,Scenic Routes — tlobner @ 5:48 pm
Yes…I think we skipped autumn today and went right into winter.  No kidding. 

For the first time this season, I wore a turtleneck sweater…yes, that’s right. This morning when I was getting ready, it looked so cold out.  In fact last night, I wore socks all night long and didn’t kick them off.   Well, later today it got a warmer, but with the wind blowing strong gusts, I’m glad I had my neck covered on my walk home from work.

For the first time this season, I wore my wool coat to work.  I did.  It was pouring rain and I thought that if I wore the coat at least 2/3 of me will remain dry.  I admit that the coat was a bit too warm for my walk home, but I’m thankful that it kept me dry this morning.

This isn’t a first but I thought I’d mention it…I’ve been eating this new morning cereal that is all the rage on several of the blogs I frequent.  It’s called Vegan Overnight Oats… you can find it mentioned here and here.  I don’t make it with the softserve…I just make the oats and they really are so good.  Honestly, I have found that I’m not hungry until 12:30pm (I eat this about 7:15 am or so)…not even desiring a snack in between…Surprised?…I know.

As always, there are some ingredients I cannot find, so I’ve changed this a little to fit what I have and can find, and I like my oats with less liquid…(I don’t have a picture for you…maybe I’ll take one tomorrow).  Here’s my version of the vegan overnight oats:

The ingredients

1/3 cup jumbo/rolled oats

1/2 cup almond milk

1T ground flaxseed (I’ve also used soy milk)

1 or 1/2 of a small banana (per taste) and mashed

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

Mix all together in a bowl, and put in your fridge to set overnight. 

Ingredients before mixing and adding the almond milk

The next morning, take a look and you will notice that the liquid is no longer there and stir. 

The next morning

Add the following as desired: 

Additions

Peanut butter

Almond butter

maple syrup or agave syrup (honestly, I don’t add any because the only almond milk I can find is already sweetened)

I top with the peanut butter or almond butter and tons of fruit.  Mix. Eat.

Topped with fruit and ready to eat!

It.is.so.good.  (now say it with your mouth full, because that’s how I’ve been saying it every day!)

Have you been doing something different lately to be considered your seasonal firsts?

 

2 Responses to “Seasonal firsts”

  1. Tina Says:

    ok.. i’m gonna try this. so ytou dont cook the oats?


Leave a Reply

