My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

My Saturday Morning Project October 23, 2010

Filed under: Food — tlobner @ 10:20 am
Tags:

…is to turn this…

A Real Pumpkin

…into this…

Real Canned Pumpkin

You are probably wondering…”Tiffany, why all the fuss? Just go down to the store and buy plenty more of those cans…”  And you are correct, I can, can’t I?

Well, to be honest cans of pumpkin are very hard to come by here in the far north and are not as readily available in the food halls (grocery stores) of Aberdeen (and I’m sure in other places in the UK) as they are in the US and Canada.  There are two stores here in Aberdeen were you can find the cans…but they don’t stock cans as soon as we Americans feel the need…that is as the leaves begin to turn the color of the pumpkin and bring to mind and taste the wonderful amazing flavors of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and cloves. 

To understand my plight, you should know that before taking trips to the US, my kind friends have come and asked me these special little 11 words.. “is there anything you’d like me to bring back for you?”  My eyes go wide, my brain begins to scour my cupboards and of course they immediately bring me to the following conclusion, and I say…”Oh, yes, please…some nestle tollhouse chocolate chips and a can of pumpkin!”

But once I have said items in stock and want to make something to bring to someone’s house, I think, “oh wait…are they____ worthy?”  (Reference to an episode of Seinfeld…ask me if you don’t understand)…and I ponder and I realize that there are few substitutes for awesome ingredients. 

For this reason, I’ve found that cans are a little hard to come by especially as I have all these great recipes that include pumpkin that I long to try.  So, I decided to try my hand at this project…as well as so many other bloggers have done previously, but I thought for you, my friends, I’d give you a little glimpse into my project.

My pumpkin is out of the oven now…but here’s the progression…

First you take your pumpkin and

Cut your pumpkin

Then try a different knife...

Success...it's cut in half!

Scoop out the seeds and stringy pith stuff

 

Use your hands if necessary... I did

Clean it out and start on the other half

All washed, ready to go with a 1/4 inch of water in pan

Put it in the preheated oven at 350 degrees F/ 180 degrees C

Allow to roast for 50- 60 minutes or until soft enough to mash

 And now, you’ve got all these great seeds.  Don’t throw them away…Roast them…eat them! Yum!

Here’s how you do it!

Get the seeds out of the pith and wash them

Toss with a little olive oil

Place on a lined baking sheet sprinkle with some salt and roast for approx 20 minutes in a 350 degree F/180 degree C oven

That’s all there is to it!  Next time, I’ll show you what I did with the roasted pumpkin!

Have a great Saturday!

 

Leave a Reply

