My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Songs in my dreams November 10, 2010

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 12:41 pm
Tags: , ,

For over a week now, I have been under the weather.  The first week with the flu and, now into the second week, with an upper respiratory infection.  I know that things are on the mend now and I’m thankful.

The other night I had a dream about a song. I have no idea if the song even exists or what the words are but the general feeling in the dream was that I loved it and it was so powerful to me.  Then I was reminded about a song that I used to love to sing after hearing it when I was 13 or so.  It’s called “No More Night”, written by Walt Harrah and it has been equally powerful to me.

So I searched through the internet to find a clip of someone singing it to satisfy the need to hear it.   I found a clip of David Phelps singing it back in 2006 or something surrounded by Bill and Gloria Gaither and others.  Just listening to it caused me to cry.  The song is so powerful and sung so powerfully.  It was exactly the thing I needed to help me move to recovery and to begin to get my strength back.

Well, honestly I couldn’t stop playing it all day as it spoke to me and gave me a different perspective to what I have been feeling these past few days.  Clearly the song is about the end days as it references verses in Revelation, but I see it as a hope for us today.  One particular line says “I know the King, so there is need to dread.”  This is obviously in reference to the final judgement when names in the book are read, but I took this as hope…that there is nothing to dread because I know the King!  I can go through trials, struggles, not feeling well, sadness, etc, because I can be confident in my hope in Christ. 

Some verses that remind me of this hope:

Romans 4:23-5:11 – This whole passage is amazing.  It totally highlights for me the joy and thankfulness we should have as we approach Christ. 

Romans 8:18-31 – This is what the song is about.  (See also Revelation 21)

Romans 8:38 & 39 – Nothing can separate us from God’s love.

Philippians 3:8-11 – Everything is worthless when compared to knowing Christ.

Colossians 1:11-14 – He chose us.  He purchased us.

“No more night, no more pain

No more tears, never crying again

And praises to the great ‘I AM’

We will live in the light of the Risen Lamb”

 

Leave a Reply

