My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Feeling a little more like my self again December 11, 2010

Filed under: Food,Scenic Routes — tlobner @ 3:00 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m feeling more like my self today and got a lot done.

I met a friend for coffee at 8am…well, she was there before me…I got there a few minutes or 10 later and off we went to get some final Christmas gifts and to get some items crossed off on one of my lists for the move back to the USA.

In addition to the two loads of laundry, making white chocolate cranberry orange bark, eggplant baba ganoush with the half of the eggplant in my fridge (see Emily’s recipe here (I obviously made a 1/2 batch because of 1/2 of an eggplant)) and a batch of vegan cranberry walnut muffins (see Emily’s recipe here) (I made these without the applesauce because I didn’t have any–so I added about a 1/3 cup or so of canola oil–hope it will work, and some orange zest), I wrapped the last minute gifts for friends.

You may have already read that I’m going to be returning to the USA because my attempt at getting a visa to stay to work in the UK was, unfortunately, denied.  It will be hard to leave all of my friends here and ending a fantastic 3 year journey that was originally supposed to be 1 year.

What’s ahead for me?  I have no idea but I’m sure it will be an adventure.

My immediate future…the next 3 -4 weeks will be full to the brim with sorting, packing, shipping, ending, closing, etc and I know it will be full of appreciation for what I have been given at this time and the blessings that have been bestowed on me.

Hope you try those recipes I’ve noted…the first batch of the muffins are about to come out of the oven.  Can’t wait to try them.

(Quick note: tried the muffins…delish!!)

Emily's Vegan Cranberry Walnut Muffins

 

Leave a Reply

