My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Postaday/week Topic 3: Important Accomplishment January 3, 2011

Filed under: Scenic Routes,Weekly Post Challenge — tlobner @ 9:51 am
Tags:

At church on Sunday, the sermons (morning and evening) hinged on the same theme…looking back at 2010 to prepare ourselves for 2011…learning from 2010 so that 2011 can reap the benefits. 

WordPress’ topic number 3 is similar…

What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

I didn’t have to think too hard on this one.  What did I accomplish?  I went meat and dairy free this year and now almost 10 months later, I can’t imagine ever going back.

I started thinking about removing cheese from my diet because of how my body seemed to react after eating it…self diagnosis led me to thinking lactose intolerance but I’m still not entirely sure because I’ve never been tested (but most of the signs are there)…and then I looked at what I was eating and I realized I was bored.  Bored with the tastes and the flavors…I was practically removing meat from my diet anyway so I decided to look into removing both meat and cheese from my diet.  But I wanted to do it the right way…intellectually and with a plan.

I searched the internet and found some helpful information.  I found a book which I bought to guide me.  I purchased The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone.  I had to wait a bit for it because it took about a month to get to me.  I received it just after my birthday or right before (can’t remember) and I read the book from cover to cover.  The book was extremely helpful…providing tips on how to replace what I normally ate with what I could eat if I went meat and dairy free.  I began slowly…flirting…trying the recipes and just enjoying the vibrant flavors of the food I was eating…after two weeks I noticed a difference.  It felt like all the pistons were firing…more energy…clearer focus.  Then, I visited friends who didn’t know I changed my diet (and I didn’t inform them).  After a weekend of eating the food I used to eat, it took 4 days to get back to where I was before the weekend.  It was then that I knew that I needed to move forward and begin to remove all the dairy from my diet…cheese and milk were already gone, but butter and eggs weren’t.  That’s when I knew I had passed the vegetarian stage and moved onto being solely meat/dairy/egg free…vegan. 

So I am proud to say that I’m as much as possible meat and dairy free…if dairy is hidden in a baking product and I don’t know … then I let it go but my body knows…so I try to avoid that as much as possible.

One of the concerns I had about doing this was that I wouldn’t be able to bake anymore because I love to bake…well, I haven’t stopped baking thanks to the blogs I follow written by folks who are on the same path as me and have created amazing recipes for cakes, cookies and other amazing things.  Giving me advice on how to use different healthy products to replace the ones normally found in baked goods.  I think other bloggers have helped me almost more than the book I started with.

But most importantly, being able to bake for my friends…bringing vegan baked goods to share…my friends enjoying what I bring and giving me compliments…makes this accomplishment even more fulfilling.

What about you?  What did you accomplish in 2010 that you can be proud of?

 

Leave a Reply

