My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Postaday/week challenge #17 – Do things happen for a reason? January 17, 2011

Filed under: Locking In,Scenic Routes,Weekly Post Challenge — tlobner @ 9:35 am

Today’s post challenge topic:  Does everything happen for a reason?

Right now, I’m sitting in my friend’s living room, still wearing my pjs with a huge suitcase to my right.  That suitcase represents that things do happen for a reason…only sometimes you don’t know what that reason is or what you will find when you get there.

And, since I’m less than 3 days away from boarding an airplane (after paying for an extra suitcase and for the additional weight of if not one but both suitcases) to return to the US, I have to believe everything happens for a reason. I have enjoyed living in Aberdeen and now it’s time to return, whether I like it or not. 

I have to believe that there is a greater purpose in returning.  Like for instance, back in October feeling the need to return to the US for a visit (at least) or thinking that perhaps it was time to really consider what I wanted to do with my life…did I really want to stay at my job for another year or so…was I selling myself short at staying in the position I was in…was it really the best place for me… You know, thoughts like these that make you reflect on where you are in life and considering what you really should be doing and where you really should be.  So I have to believe this returning is all apart of a bigger plan, one that I’m excited to be a part of, believe it or not.

Because I believe things happen for a reason, my focus and security lies in my trust in God and in His power in my life.  He promises to guide me and lead me as long as I trust and depend on Him. The following verses have been a comfort to me these last couple of days as I say goodbye to my friends and wonder what is ahead for me when I fly out on Friday.  I hope they, too, provide you some comfort if you are going through some changes and challenges.

“I think how much you have helped me; I sing for joy in the shadow of your protecting wings.  I follow close behind you; your strong right hand holds me securely.” Psalm 63: 7-8 (NLT)

“…I still belong to you; you are holding my right hand.  You will keep guiding me with your counsel, leading me to a glorious destiny.” Psalm 73:23-24 (NLT)

“Your road led through the sea, your pathway through the mighty waters – a pathway no one knew was there! You led your people along that road like a flock of sheep.” Psalm 77:19-20 (NLT)

“Your unfailing love, O Lord, is as vast as the heavens; your faithfulness reaches beyond the clouds.  Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains, your justice like the ocean depths. You care for your people and animals alike, O Lord.  How precious is your unfailing love, O God!” Psalm 36:5-7 (NLT)

 

Leave a Reply

