My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Struggling…but Trusting February 21, 2011

Filed under: Locking In — tlobner @ 4:49 pm

Yes, to be honest, I am struggling. 

I miss my friends.  Finding a job is difficult, especially when looking for work in a field you haven’t previously worked, but I’ve found and applied for 4 jobs in the last week and they won’t be the last.  I miss my church family in Aberdeen as well as the teaching I received there.  It’s hard to crack open my Bible and search for comfort and guidance.  And, I think I may have a cold.

But, I’m trusting. 

One of my favorite songs by David Phelps keeps swirling around my head to remind me that God is guiding me, even through the difficult time, and all I need to do is just keep trusting Him.  I’ve included a YouTube link (just click on the title of the song) with the lyrics if you want to listen and follow along.

Gentle Savior (written by David Phelps and others)

Where are the signs? Which way should I go?
I planned each step but now I don’t know
Tomorrow is a chasm of uncertainty
But, I will go there, if You’ll go with me

Gentle Savior, lead me on
Let Your Spirit light the way
Gentle Savior, lead me on
Hold me close and keep me safe
Lead me on, gentle Savior

Why can’t I walk away from my regrets
And why is forgiveness so hard to accept
My past surrounds me like a house I can’t afford
But You say, “Come with me, don’t live there anymore”

Gentle Savior, lead me on
Let Your Spirit light the way
Gentle Savior, lead me on
Hold me close and keep me safe
Lead me on, gentle Savior

And when I reach the valley, every soul must journey through
I’ll remember then how well You know the way
I’ll put my hand in Your hand like a trusting child would do
And say

Gentle Savior, lead me on
Let Your Spirit light the way
Gentle Savior, lead me on
Hold me close and keep me safe
Lead me on, gentle Savior

I’m glad this song keeps swirling around in my head.  It’s just what I need to keep me constant in my trust in God as he leads me along this path He has asked me to travel. 

And, it reminds me to hold tight to my year verse for 2011.

“I think how much you have helped me; I sing for joy in the shadow of your protecting wings.  I follow close behind you; your strong right hand holds me securely.”  Psalm 63:7-8 (NLT)

If/when you are struggling, what promise or assurance do you hold on to?

 

3 Responses to “Struggling…but Trusting”

  1. Erin Maston Says:

    Praying for you during this time of adjustment. It is hard to wait on the Lord. But he always provides in his timing!

  2. Tabitha Says:

    The book Job is a real encouragement for me and keeps me going in times of struggle. And also the famous Psalm 23, the Lord is my shepherd, particular the part; ” Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me.” Take care!


Leave a Reply

