My Journey in the Far North

thoughts, inspiration, devotions and recipes from my journey in the far north

Gwyneth’s Spiced Apple Crumb Muffins – Recipe Review May 9, 2011

A few weeks ago I finally received my copy of Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook, My Father’s Daughter, that I had ordered and since receiving it, I have made serveral of her recipes or used her recipes as inspiration for my lunches and dinners.

The cookbook includes recipes for all diets, and she does not prescribe to or push any one diet except for encouraging us to eat food that is fresh and healthy.  Many of the recipes are adaptable for vegetarians and vegans, and many of her baked goods are dairy and egg free.  Of course, there are recipes that include meat and are not adaptable but they sound great and I’m sure meat eaters would enjoy them. 

To accompany my viewing of the Royal Wedding recently, I made her Fudgy Chocolate Brownies (page 246).  They were delicious. And, they are ‘healthy’, primarily due to the spelt flour, no granulated sugar (only using maple syrup and brown rice syrup or agave nectar), non-dairy milk and no eggs. 

This morning I wanted to try one of her muffin recipes.  I was planning on making the blueberry muffins (also egg and dairy free) found on page 230, but then I saw the recipe for Spiced Apple Crumb Muffins (page 224) and decided to make them instead so I could use up the small granny smith apples I had.

They have since finished baking, and I ate one immediately.  So good.  I’m in the middle of eating a second one, one that’s cooled a bit and it tastes great.  One of my pet peeves are muffins that stick to the muffin liners, and this muffin did not stick at all.  So it’s a winner just for that.

The crumb topping is crunchy and did not melt into the muffin…win. 

The muffin is moist…win win.

The muffin is good for you (just be careful how many you eat at one time)…win win win.

So because I don’t want to infringe on any copywrite laws I won’t be posting the recipe but you can find it on the Good Morning America website . So if you get a chance to view the recipe and attempt to make it, you should know that if you don’t have all the ingredients you can do what I did…incorporate ingredients I had on hand. 

For example:

I used almond milk instead of soy milk.

I used white flour to replace one of the spelt flours.

I added toasted coconut to the topping.

I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil.

I used regular brown sugar to replace the unrefined dark brown sugar.

Muffins ready to be eaten

The recipe is well worth making…and the book, I think, well worth buying.  If you can’t find it as My Father’s Daughter, it’s published in the UK as Notes From My Kitchen Table.

 

Leave a Reply

